//
you're reading...
Commentary, Sports Desk, Station Programming

A Penny For Your Thoughts……


The winner of the “Living with Sportz” Fan of the Day for November 19th is St. Vince. Yes, the only and only leader of the Green Bay Packer fan base. St. Vince has been a reader and listener of Living with Sportz for some time. He is a true, passionate fan of the Packers. St. Vince is definitely “Living with Sportz.” Congrats St. Vince!!!

Tomorrow is the Living with Sportz college football Top Picks. The Top Pick is 9-1 this season. It will be released at approx 3:30am on Saturday morning. Check it out.

Coryell Factor: Tony Dungy, a Super Bowl head coach, says, “If you talk about impact on the game, training other coaches, John Madden, Bill Walsh, Joe Gibbs to name a few…and influencing how things are done, Don Coryell is probably right up there with Paul Brown. He was a genius. Don Coryell, Hall of Fame 2011

There is so much going on in the world of sports lately, I thought it would be a great time to share my feelings and opinions on a wide variety of subjects today. I share many of these opinions on my weekly radio show and now want to share them with all of the readers as well.

Coryell Factor:
I get numerous emails from new fans and readers asking me what the significance is of the Coryell Factor. After the selection of the Hall of Fame Class of 2010 was announced, I felt like Don Coryell got snubbed. In my opinion, Coryell is one of only two people that should be in the Hall that have been somehow overlooked. The other is Randy Gradishar. I have no affiliation to Coryell as he was not a coach of my favorite team or of my favorite college. I am only a fan of football and the game we watch today would not be the same if not for the genius of Don Coryell. I made the vow that I would post a fact about Coryell in every article until he was elected to the place he belongs, the Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio. I also have been asked to write a letter on Coryell’s behalf that will be shared with all 44 Hall of Fame voters in Dallas at the election meeting. I take this very seriously and will post my letter to the election committee after its completion.

NASCAR:
The biggest sporting event of the weekend is happening at Homestead Raceway this weekend in Miami. Jimmie Johnson goes for his unprecedented fifth straight Sprint Cup. He trails Denny Hamlin by 15 points and Kevin Harvick still has an outside opportunity to claim the trophy. I will definitely be tuned in while I also watch the NFL action on Sunday. It is too bad that more fans do not understand how exciting this sport can be. This race will be intense from the green flag to the checker. History will happen whether Johnson wins or not. I know there are people pulling against Johnson, only because they are sick of his domination. I think it is the perfect time to honor what he and his team have accomplished, win or lose. I will never like his crew chief, Chad Knaus, though.

NBA:
I will talk more about the NBA after the football season is over. I only have one thought about the NBA today: I feel extremely bad for Greg Oden. His career may be over before it ever got started. The talk of his defensive domination compared to the likes of Bill Russell all seems to be gone. All of the fans of the NBA lost out on a tremendous individual and tremendous talent that now is gone for yet another season. We will all miss you, Greg.

NFL:
I have to admit that I don’t know if I am enjoying this season with so few dominating teams. Let’s face it, with the exception of the NFC West, you could reach in to a bag and pull out any team as a potential Super Bowl team. I know we are in for a few surprises over the second half of the season. I also love the knee jerk emotions of the fans and so-called experts every Monday morning. We are quick to anoint a new top team and now it appears that Michael Vick is the best quarterback to ever play in the NFL. With this day of the 24/7 news cycle, we no longer have the patience to see how it all plays out.

There are some truly great games of interest this weekend.

Oakland Raiders @ Pittsburgh Steelers:
It will be interesting to see how the first place Raiders play at Pittsburgh after their bye week. It is never a good time to play the Steelers after they were manhandled by the Patriots last weekend. This game will be under the radar but it has all of the drama that sports fans look for in an event.

Detroit Lions @ Dallas Cowboys:
I know we’re talking about two bottom feeders here, but it will be interesting to see if the Cowboys were a one game wonder under new head coach Jason Garrett or maybe they’ve turned the corner to their future. The Lions haven’t learned how to win and this game has plenty of intrigue to it.

Green Bay Packers @ Minnesota Vikings:
This game has lost plenty of drama as the Vikes have under-performed all season. This game is still huge to the people of Minnesota and Wisconsin. This will be the last time that the Packers face their former quarterback, #4. The Viking fans will be in full force at the Mall of America Stadium and this is one of the most under-rated rivalries in the NFL. I, for one cant wait for kickoff in this one.

Atlanta Falcons @ St. Louis Rams:
The Falcons are now the “flavor of the month” in the NFC and head into St. Louis to take on the Rams. The Rams have won 4 games at home and now are only 3 point underdogs to the Falcons. Bradford vs. Ryan is a great QB matchup to draw the attention of NFL fans everywhere. Don’t be surprised if the Falcons have a letdown in this game. The Rams will be ready and we will see if the Falcons are truly the team that so many are proclaiming the best in the NFC. I am not ready to go there yet.

Tampa Bay Buccaneers @ San Francisco 49ers:
One big surprise against one big disappointment. This game isn’t on many must-see lists this weekend. The 49ers appear to have found their best QB option in Troy Smith and now host the biggest surprise in the NFL. Can the Buccaneers go into San Fran and show all of us that they are for real? The 49ers play in the terrible NFC West and are far from elimination. This game will propel one of these two teams to into the playoff picture. This is the most important game of the season to both of these teams. Freeman vs. Smith lacks the high profile match-up of Bradford vs. Ryan or Manning vs. Brady but will be just as interesting.

Indianapolis Colts @ New England Patriots:
No explanation needed with this game. I do wonder if Manning alone can get past the Patriots – too many injuries for the Colts to win this one. It wouldn’t be the first time Payton Manning has surprised me though. Late game on Sunday is Must-See TV.

New York Giants @ Philadelphia Eagles:
Can Michael Vick continue his unbelievable play against one of the best defenses in the league? Perry Fewell will have the Giants defense ready for Vick. I absolutely love divisional matchups in the NFL and it doesn’t get any better than this one. Something tells me that the Giants take care of business in this one. One guarantee I can make is that the Eagles will not score 59 points this week.

College Football:
So many questions this late in the season: Is Boise State or TCU really one of the two best teams in college football? Did Cam Newton or his father really take the money? Can Oregon and Auburn run the table? If Auburn wins the National Championship, how long until they have to give it back? Who is the best one loss team in college football? So many questions and so few answers. I am going to take a stab at these questions:

Is Boise State or TCU really one of the two best teams in college football?
At this time, I feel like TCU is a legitimate contender for the championship. They have 6, possibly 7 defensive players that will play on Sundays next year. This defense is truly one of the best defenses in college football. The problem is that so many people do not get to see this team play very often. They have already cast their lot in the landscape of college football with only one game left against New Mexico on their schedule. Take a look at the scores of their games and tell me they don’t belong. I have had TCU ranked 2nd in my poll for 5 weeks now and don’t see changing that unless Auburn runs the table. If both Auburn and Oregon stumble, then Boise State is the last one standing. I have been criticized many times for my feelings on Boise State but I am not going to reward a team that plays in the WAC conference. I can’t get past the fact that they do not play anybody. Sorry Boise State, you should not be penalized for that schedule, but you are not going to be rewarded either. Boise State turned down the opportunity to play at Nebraska or Ohio State this season unless they got $1 million. I can’t see past that little known fact. The idea that they will play anyone at anytime is false. The idea that nobody will schedule them is even more false. You will be awarded a nice trip to the Orange or Sugar Bowl. Maybe even a Rose Bowl birth. Not bad for a team from the WAC. Sorry Boise State fans but I do not reward for previous year successes.

Did Cam Newton or his father really take the money?
Where there is smoke, there is fire. I believe there is quite a bit of truth to this story. I hate the feelings that I get when I look at everything that I know. Cam Newton is truly a very talented player and he will move on to the NFL and leave this mess to Auburn University. I believe he took the money and that his father is saying, ‘So what.” He accomplished what he wanted. His son is now a household name and ready to accept a big paycheck from the NFL. Until this is a Federal offense and the culprits involved in this face severe prison time, this will get worse before it gets better. The FBI doesn’t get involved unless they have some very serious evidence.

Can Oregon and Auburn run the table?
Yes and No!!! I know there is a number of people in the NCAA offices pulling against Auburn. They do not want the possible scandal that may come with Auburn winning the national championship. I believe that Oregon has the best opportunity to win their last two games. I have them penciled in to the BCS Championship game. As for Auburn, I believe they are going to lose the “Iron Bowl” to Alabama. The Tigers have had numerous close games this season and I wonder if they have used up their luck for the season. I also believe that of they lose to Bama, they could possible lose the SEC Championship game to a very motivated South Carolina team. I admit though that I would love to see Auburn run the table and meet Oregon in the National Championship Game. I have never been a big fan of the hypocrisy of the NCAA anyway. They make millions off of these kids and give nothing back. By the way, Auburn is selling Cam Newton jerseys and Newton receives ZERO for this.

If Auburn wins the National Championship, how long until they have to give it back?
The Auburn philosophy: It is better to have won a championship and give it back than to never have won a championship. Enough said.

Who is the best one loss team in college football?
There are 5 contenders for this title. This title also comes without any current rewards. The five teams are LSU, Wisconsin, Stanford, Nebraska and Ohio State. I don’t know if it matters today who is the best at this time. It is crazy to think that we have tons of football left and it is mid November. I am going to let this play out. Let’s look at the losses of these teams: LSU loses at Auburn, Wisconsin loses at Michigan State, Stanford loses at Oregon, Nebraska loses to Texas at home and Ohio State loses at Wisconsin. The one thing that I and every Nebraska fan cant get out of their heads is the fact that the Huskers lost to the Longhorns at home in a very down year for Texas. What could have and should have been will never happen. That loss offers no shot at a National Championship shot for the Huskers, no matter how the rest of the season plays out.

These are only a few of my thoughts going into this weekend. I hope all of you have a safe weekend and I appreciate all of your recommendations to Living with Sportz. Thank You.

About livingwithsportz

I was a professional baseball umpire for 11 seasons from 1979-1989. I follow all sports and read and study everything to do with all aspects of sport. I am now a 50 yr old man who feels the need for a new career and am hoping to get into the sports information age. I love starting discussions about controversial sports and life subjects. I am originally from Wisconsin. I am a diehard cheesehead and have been a lifelong Packer and Badger fan. I have lived all over the country and hope to give an interesting perspective to sports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Listen Now & Support Our Station!

Directly Through Website:
WWPM MediaNet
WWPM MediaNet on Tumblr

Other Ways To Listen:
Shoutcast Radio
AudioRealm
RadioTime
Also streaming on iPhone, Android and Blackberry

https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=TP7W4Y49Z5AES

Unique Visitors

