//
you're reading...
Commentary, Sports Desk, Station Programming

NFL Power Rankings: Veterans Day


The winner of the “Living with Sportz” Fan of the Day for Nov 11th, is Grant Lamb. Grant is a huge Minnesota Viking fan along with the USC Trojans. Grant has recommended many friends to Living with Sportz. He also has sent emails and comments on articles. Grant is definitely Living with Sportz. Congrats Grant!!

Thank you for all of the recommendations to Living with Sportz. I truly appreciate each and every one of you. If you would recommend “Living with Sportz” to any friends or fellow sports fans, I would truly appreciate it. Under the profile picture on the Facebook Fan Page is a “Suggest to Friends” button. If you click on it, it allows you to recommend the Fan Page to friends.

I want to thank everyone that has donated to “Living with Sportz.” I know times are tough and for you to dig in your pockets to support “Living with Sportz” is very much appreciated. I will always keep your donations anonymous but please forgive me for wanting to thank you publicly. We are all “Living with Sportz” Hit that DONATE Button, Please

Coryell Factor: The Dallas Cowboys teams than won three super Bowls in four years in the 1990s were very much based on the Coryell offense, as former Coryell assistant Ernie Zampese and Coryell advocate Norv Turner were in charge of those Cowboys game plans. Don Coryell, Hall of Fame 2011

Before we get to the NFL Power Rankings, this is something I want to share on Veterans Day that was shared with me:

The Snack Lunches

I put my carry-on in the luggage compartment and sat down in my assigned seat. It was going to be a long flight. I’m glad I have a good book to read. Perhaps I will get a short nap, I thought.

Just before take-off, a line of soldiers came down the aisle and filled all the vacant seats, totally surrounding me. I decided to start a conversation.

‘Where are you headed?’ I asked the soldier seated nearest to me.
‘Petawawa. We’ll be there for two weeks for special training, and then we’re being deployed to Afghanistan

After flying for about an hour, an announcement was made that snack lunches were available for five dollars. It would be several hours before we reached the east, and I quickly decided a lunch would help pass the time…

As I reached for my wallet, I overheard a soldier ask his buddy if he planned to buy lunch. ‘No, that seems like a lot of money for just a snack lunch. Probably wouldn’t be worth five bucks. I’ll wait till we get to base.’

His friend agreed.

I looked around at the other soldiers. None were buying lunch. I walked to the back of the plane and handed the flight attendant a fifty dollar bill. ‘Take a lunch to all those soldiers.’ She grabbed my arms and squeezed tightly. Her eyes wet with tears, she thanked me. ‘My son was a soldier in Iraq ; it’s almost like you are doing it for him.’

Picking up ten snacks, she headed up the aisle to where the soldiers were seated. She stopped at my seat and asked, ‘Which do you like best – beef or chicken? Chicken, I replied, wondering why she asked.

She turned and went to the front of the plane, returning a minute later with a dinner plate from first class. This is your thanks.

After we finished eating, I went again to the back of the plane, heading for the rest room. A man stopped me. ‘I saw what you did. I want to be part of it. Here, take this.’ He handed me twenty-five dollars.

Soon after I returned to my seat, I saw the Flight Captain coming down the aisle, looking at the aisle numbers as he walked, I hoped he was not looking for me, but noticed he was looking at the numbers only on my side of the plane. When he got to my row he stopped, smiled, held out his hand and said, ‘I want to shake your hand.’ Quickly unfastening my seatbelt I stood and took the Captain’s hand. With a booming voice he said, ‘I was a soldier and I was a military pilot. Once, someone bought me a lunch. It was an act of kindness I never forgot.’ I was embarrassed when applause was heard from all of the passengers.

Later, I walked to the front of the plane so I could stretch my legs. A man who was seated about six rows in front of me reached out his hand, wanting to shake mine. He left another twenty-five dollars in my palm.

When we landed I gathered my belongings and started to deplane. Waiting just inside the airplane door was a man who stopped me, put something in my shirt pocket, turned, and walked away without saying a word. Another twenty-five dollars!

Upon entering the terminal, I saw the soldiers gathering for their trip to the base. I walked over to them and handed them seventy-five dollars. ‘It will take you some time to reach the base. It will be about time for a sandwich. God Bless You.

Ten young men left that flight feeling the love and respect of their fellow travelers.

As I walked briskly to my car, I whispered a prayer for their safe return. These soldiers were giving their all for our country. I could only give them a couple of meals. It seemed so little.

A veteran is someone who, at one point in his life, wrote a blank check made payable to ‘The United States of America ‘ for an amount of ‘up to and including my life.’

That is Honor, and there are way too many people in this country who no longer understand it.’

Today’s Article: NFL POWER RANKINGS

  1. Pittsburgh Steelers: 3-1 with or without Big Ben
  2. New York Giants: 5 wins in a row
  3. Baltimore Ravens: Completely dominate Miami
  4. NY Jets: Miracle in Detroit moves the Jets into 1st in the AFC East
  5. Atlanta Falcons: Huge game tonight against the Ravens
  6. NE Patriots: Oops, Lost to Mangini and the Browns
  7. New Orleans Saints: Getting their groove back
  8. GB Packers: Defense allows 7 points in the last 2 games, take a week off
  9. Philadelphia Eagles:Big win against the Colts
  10. Indianapolis Colts: Tough loss in Indy, injuries everywhere
  11. Tennessee Titans: Moss makes his debut this week
  12. Oakland Raiders: 3 in a row for the first time since 2002
  13. KC Chiefs: Young, talented team loses a tough one in Oakland
  14. Tampa Bay Buccaneers: 1 yard away from leading the NFC South
  15. Chicago Bears: The jury is still out on the Bears
  16. Houston Texans: Kubiak is on the hot seat
  17. Miami Dolphins: Making a change to Pennington
  18. San Diego Chargers: Here they come
  19. Jacksonville Jaguars: Host the Texans after the Bye
  20. Washington Redskins: McNabb takes on his old team with tons of drama
  21. St Louis Rams: Travel to San Fran, can they win on the road?
  22. Minnesota Vikings: Miracle last week keeps this team alive
  23. Cleveland Browns: Battle of the Ryan twins this week
  24. Detroit Lions: Haven’t learned how to win
  25. San Francisco 49ers: Take on the Rams at home, it is time to win
  26. Seattle Seahawks: Ugly team and still in 1st place in the NFC West
  27. Cincinnati Bengals: Disaster continues
  28. Arizona Cardinals: Offensive futility is an extreme under-statement
  29. Denver Broncos: Host the Chiefs this week in a must win game
  30. Dallas Cowboys: Thought about ranking them 32nd
  31. Carolina Panthers: No offense, no defense, no team
  32. Buffalo Bills: At least they are exciting to watch
About livingwithsportz

I was a professional baseball umpire for 11 seasons from 1979-1989. I follow all sports and read and study everything to do with all aspects of sport. I am now a 50 yr old man who feels the need for a new career and am hoping to get into the sports information age. I love starting discussions about controversial sports and life subjects. I am originally from Wisconsin. I am a diehard cheesehead and have been a lifelong Packer and Badger fan. I have lived all over the country and hope to give an interesting perspective to sports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Listen Now & Support Our Station!

Directly Through Website:
WWPM MediaNet
WWPM MediaNet on Tumblr

Other Ways To Listen:
Shoutcast Radio
AudioRealm
RadioTime
Also streaming on iPhone, Android and Blackberry

https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=TP7W4Y49Z5AES

Unique Visitors

